WNBA Finals History

The WNBA begun play in 1997. Just like the NBA, the WNBA decides their league champions with a playoff.

In 1997 the first playoff featured only four teams. Each series was decided with just one game. The following season, the playoffs still featured only four teams, but the WNBA went with a best of three game format in both rounds.

In 1999 the playoffs expanded to six teams. The top seeds received a bye into the conference finals, but four teams played a one game series to move on to the conference finals. After that, each series was a best of three games.

In 2000 the WNBA once again were expanded. Now eight teams were in the playoffs. Each series was a best of three series.

In 2001 the WNBA Finals were altered to a best of five games format. This is the same format used today.

Year Champions Runner Ups Series MVP
1997 Houston Comets New York Liberty 65-61 Cynthia Cooper
1998 Houston Comets Phoenix Mercury 2-1 Cynthia Cooper
1999 Houston Comets New York Liberty 2-1 Cynthia Cooper
2000 Houston Comets New York Liberty 2-0 Cynthia Cooper
2001 Los Angeles Sparks Charlotte Sting 2-0 Lisa Leslie
2002 Los Angeles Sparks New York Liberty 2-0 Lisa Leslie
2003 Detriot Shock Los Angeles Sparks 2-1 Ruth Riley
2004 Seattle Storm Connectict Sun 2-1 Betty Lennox
2005 Sacramento Monarchs Connectict Sun 3-1 Yolanda Griffith
2006 Detriot Shock Sacramento Monarchs 3-2 Deanna Nolan
2007 Phoenix Mercury Detriot Shock 3-2 Cappie Pondexter
2008 Detriot Shock San Antonio Silver Stars 3-0 Katie Smith
2009 Phoenix Mercury Indiana Fever 3-2 Diana Taurasi
2010 Seattle Storm Atlanta Dream 3-0 Lauren Jackson

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page