History of NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award

NBA Sixth Man of the Year

Another award that first given out following the 1982-83 season is the Sixth Man of the Year. It recognizes the best player to come off the bench each season.

Season Player Team
1982-83 Bobby Jones Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Kevin McHale Boston Celtics
1984-85 Kevin McHale Boston Celtics
1985-86 Bill Walton Boston Celtics
1986-87 Ricky Pierce Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88 Roy Tarpley Dallas Mvericks
1988-89 Eddie Johnson Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Ricky Pierce Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91 Detlef Schrempf Indiana Pacers
1991-92 Detlef Schrempf Indiana Pacers
1992-93 Clifford Robinson Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Dell Curry Charlotte Hornets
1994-95 Anthony Mason New York Knicks
1995-96 Toni Kukoc Chicago Bulls
1996-97 John Starks New York Knicks
1997-98 Danny Manning Phoenix Suns
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong Orlando Magic
1999-00 Rodney Rogers Phoenix Suns
2000-01 Aaron McKie Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Corliss Williamson Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Bobby Jackson Sacramento Kings
2003-04 Antawn Jamison Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Ben Gordon Chicago Bulls
2005-06 Mike Miller Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07 Leandro Barbosa Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Manu Ginobili San Antonio Spurs
2008-09 Jason Terry Dallas Mavericks
2009-10 Jamal Crawford Atlanta Hawks
2010-11 Lamar Odom Los Angeles Lakers

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page