History of NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award

NBA Defensive Player of the Year

The NBA has recognized the best defensive player each season with the Defensive Player of the Year Award. It was first awarded after the 1982-83 season.

Season Player Team
1982-83 Sidney Moncrief Milwaukee Bucks
1983-84 Sidney Moncrief Milwaukee Bucks
1984-85 Mark Eaton Utah Jazz
1985-86 Alvin Robertson San Antonio Spurs
1986-87 Michael Cooper Los Angeles Lakers
1987-88 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1988-89 Mark Eaton Utah Jazz
1989-90 Dennis Rodman Detroit Pistons
1990-91 Dennis Rodman Detroit Pistons
1991-92 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1994-95 Dikembe Mutombo Denver Nuggets
1995-96 Gary Payton Seattle Super Sonics
1996-97 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks
1997-98 Dikembe Mutombo Atlanta Hawks
1998-99 Alonzo Mourning Miami Heat
1999-00 Alonzo Mourning Miami Heat
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo Philadelphia 76ers - Atlanta Hawks
2001-02 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2003-04 Ron Artest Indiana Pacers
2004-05 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2005-06 Ben Wallace Detroit Pistons
2006-07 Marcus Camby Denver Nuggets
2007-08 Kevin Garnett Boston Celtics
2008-09 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2009-10 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2010-11 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page