All-Time NBA Rookie of the Year Awards

NBA Rookie of the Year

The NBA has recognized the best rookie each season with the Rookie of the Year award. The winner of the award receives the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy.

Season Player Team
1952-53 Don Meineke Fort Wayne Pistons
1953-54 Ray Felix Baltimore Bullets
1954-55 Bob Pettit Milwaukee Hawks
1955-56 Maurice Stokes Rochester Royals
1956-57 Tom Heinsohn Boston Celtics
1957-58 Woody Sauldsberry Philadelphia Warriors
1958-59 Elgin Baylor Minneapolis Lakers
1959-60 Wilt Chamberlain Philadelphia Warriors
1960-61 Oscar Robertson Cincinnati Royals
1961-62 Walt Bellamy Chicago Packers
1962-63 Terry Dischinger Chicago Zephyrs
1963-64 Jerry Lucas Cincinnati Royals
1964-65 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1965-66 Rick Barry San Francisco Warriors
1966-67 Dave Bing Detroit Pistons
1967-68 Earl Monroe Baltimore Bullets
1968-69 Wes Unseld Baltimore Bullets
1969-70 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Milwaukee Bucks
1970-71 Dave Cowens and Geoff Petrie Boston Celtics and Portland Trail Blazers
1971-72 Sidney Wicks Portland Trail Blazers
1972-73 Bob McAdoo Buffalo Braves
1973-74 Ernie DiGregorio Buffalo Braves
1974-75 Keith Wilkes Golden State Warriors
1975-76 Alvan Adams Phoenix Suns
1976-77 Adrian Dantley Buffalo Braves
1977-78 Walter Davis Phoenix Suns
1978-79 Phil Ford Kansas City Kings
1979-80 Larry Bird Boston
1980-81 Darrell Griffith Utah Jazz
1981-82 Buck Williams New Jersey Nets
1982-83 Terry Cummings San Diego Clippers
1983-84 Ralph Sampson Houston Rockets
1984-85 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1985-86 Patrick Ewing New York Knicks
1986-87 Chuck Person Indiana Pacers
1987-88 Mark Jackson New York Knicks
1988-89 Mitch Richmond Golden State Warriors
1989-90 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1990-91 Derrick Coleman New Jersey Nets
1991-92 Larry Johnson Charlotte Hornets
1992-93 Shaquille O'Neal Orlando Magic
1993-94 Chris Webber Golden State Warriors
1994-95 Grant Hill and Jason Kidd Detroit Pistons and Dallas Mavericks
1995-96 Damon Stoudamire Toronto Raptors
1996-97 Allen Iverson Philadelphia 76ers
1997-98 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
1998-99 Vince Carter Toronto Raptors
1999-00 Elton Brand and Steve Francis Chicago Bulls and Houston Rockets
2000-01 Mike Miller Orlando Magic
2001-02 Pau Gasol Memphis Grizzlies
2002-03 Amare Stoudemire Phoenix Suns
2003-04 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2004-05 Emeka Okafor Charlotte Hornets
2005-06 Chris Paul New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets
2006-07 Brandon Roy Portland Trail Blazers
2007-08 Kevin Durant Seattle Super Sonics
2008-09 Derrick Rose Chicago Bulls
2009-10 Tyreke Evans Sacramento
2010-11 Blake Griffin L.A. Clippers

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page