All-Time List of NBA Coach of the Year Award Winners

NBA Coach Of The Year

Since 1963 the NBA has recognized the coach that has done the best coaching job in the league. The award does not always go to the coach of the best team. It could go to a coach that turned a team into a playoff team after a disappointed previous season. The trophy for the winner is named after Red Auerbach, the legendary Boston Celtics coach.

Season Coach Team
1962-63 Harry Gallatin St. Louis Hawks
1963-64 Alex Hannum San Francisco Warriors
1964-65 Red Auerbach Boston Celtics
1965-66 Dolph Schayes Philadelphia 76ers
1966-67 Johnny Kerr Chicago Bulls
1967-68 Richie Guerin St. Louis Hawks
1968-69 Gene Shue Baltimore Bullets
1969-70 Red Holzman New York Knicks
1970-71 Dick Motta Chicago Bulls
1971-72 Bill Sharman Los Angeles Lakers
1972-73 Tom Heinsohn Boston Celtics
1973-74 Ray Scott Detroit Pistons
1974-75 Phil Johnson Kansas City-Omaha Kings
1975-76 Bill Fitch Cleveland Cavaliers
1976-77 Tom Nissalke Houston Rockets
1977-78 Hubie Brown Atlanta Hawks
1978-79 Cotton Fitzsimmons Kansas City Kings
1979-80 Bill Fitch Boston Celtics
1980-81 Jack McKinney Indiana Pacers
1981-82 Gene Shue Washington Bullets
1982-83 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks
1983-84 Frank Layden Utah Jazz
1984-85 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks
1985-86 Mike Fratello Atlanta Hawks
1986-87 Mike Schuler Portland Trail Blazers
1987-88 Doug Moe Denver Nuggets
1988-89 Cotton Fitzsimmons Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Pat Riley Los Angeles Lakers
1990-91 Don Chaney Houston Rockets
1991-92 Don Nelson Golden State Warriors
1992-93 Pat Riley New York Knicks
1993-94 Lenny Wilkens Atlanta Hawks
1994-95 Del Harris Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Phil Jackson Chicago Bulls
1996-97 Pat Riley Miami Heat
1997-98 Larry Bird Indiana Pacers
1998-99 Mike Dunleavy Portland Trail Blazers
1999-00 Doc Rivers Orlando Magic
2000-01 Larry Brown Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Rick Carlisle Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs
2003-04 Hubie Brown Memphis Grizzlies
2004-05 Mike D'Antoni Phoenix Suns
2005-06 Avery Johnson Dallas Mavericks
2006-07 Sam Mitchell Toronto Raptors
2007-08 Byron Scott New Orleans
2008-09 Mike Brown Cleveland
2009-10 Scott Brooks Oklahoma City Thunder
2010-11 Tom Thibodeau Chicago Bulls

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page